Aspex Portsmouth

The Platform Graduate Award

Aspex is delighted to announce our selection for The Platform Graduate Award 2022!

The Platform Graduate Award was established by the Contemporary Visual Art Network South East (CVAN SE) in 2012 to support emerging artists to further their practice following graduation.

This year’s award is supported by six partner arts organisations from across the South East and West, including Aspex Portsmouth; MK Gallery in Milton Keynes; Modern Art Oxford; Phoenix Art Space in Brighton; Arts University Plymouth; and Turner Contemporary in Margate.

We are delighted to be able to share the twelve artists who will be exhibiting at Aspex as part of the Award from 7 October to 23 December 2022:

Besma Alwesmi, and Annabel Miller (Arts University Bournemouth); Sam Atherton, and Zayd Menk (UCA Farnham); Amanda Berridge, and Amy Standing (University of Chichester); Shalom Nuhu, and Thaïs Verhasselt (University of Portsmouth); Erica Cannon, and Beth Givens (Solent University, Southampton); Eleanor Brown, and Annabel Tennyson-Davies (Winchester School of Art, Southampton University).

The next phase of Platform will see the partner organisations each shortlist a finalist, from which one outstanding graduate will receive a £2000 bursary and 12 months of mentoring support. The winner will be selected by a panel of judges, including a representative from each partner and a guest artist, with previous years seeing Mikhail Karakis, Harold Offeh, Rosalind Nashashibiand, and Tai Shani contribute to the final decision.

To read the full list of artists exhibiting across the six partner venues, please click here.